Formally known as Kodaijusho-zenji Temple and located in the Higashiyama Mountains of eastern Kyoto, Kodai-ji Temple was established in 1605 by a woman named Kita-no-Mandokoro to honor the memory of her late husband, Toyotomi Hideyoshi. Kodai-ji was struck by a series of fires after 1789 but fortunately the original buildings of Otama-ya, Kaisan-do, Kangetsu-dai, Kasa-tei and Shigure-tei survived the fire and are in excellent state of preservation. They have all been designated as "Important Cultural Properties" by the Japanese Government.
Every Spring, Summer and Fall Kodai-ji is open until 9:30 PM to showcase their garden set up with lights. In early November the fall season begins and leaves are turning to shades of yellow, red and orange. Entrance is ¥600.
Find out more about Kodaiji.